Chasing perfectly interesting

Running Child

New discoveries are always very exciting. Most of the time they  inspire to new insights and ideas.  Therefore I often find myself looking for excitement and adventure to make these new discoveries. While doing so I am forgetting about the very treasures right in front of me. Why is it that I partly feel a need to travel to a new continent and foreign cultures, when I have so much history, culture and stories just in my neighborhood? This thought has kept growing within and I have to face how little I know about my local community. It is easy and exciting to travel the world for discoveries but not so tempting to explore  already known places.

I am convinced that there are still plenty to learn and do in our communities. Just as I think there are interesting people around the globe, I am sure that there are several interesting people with amazing stories to tell, just across the street – If we only take the time to listen.

Train station Uppsala

I often hear about the importance of understanding our environment and to know what assets we have in nature. It could be  crucial to know about the plants around us ; what we can use them for, what plants/berries we can eat and how they affect us. Thinking about it, I realize how  little I actually know about my surrounding including people, history, culture and nature. I could probably not name or explain half of the plants I see just on my way to work. When it comes down to it, I would most likely be doomed without electricity or a refrigerator.

What if we could use the same curiosity and desire to learn when meeting the old man from across the street or when looking at a tree as when I am hiking in a new country. Surrounded by people who look very different from me awakens curiosity and questions.  But we all have a story. What if we could bring out that innovation and curiosity in any environment? I wonder what would happen in life if I could start listening with greater interest to the stories around me, understanding my community better,  instead of chasing the perfect story around the world.

3 thoughts on “Chasing perfectly interesting

  1. Madeleine says:

    Så sant så. Jag har också funderat på det. Varför man/jag vill resa överrallt för att finna ny kunskap och förståelse, när det egentligen finns så mycket outforskat runt omkring mig. Jag tänker nog väldigt enkelt att jag redan vet så mycket om de jag har omkring mig. Samtidigt som jag också är medveten om att det finns så mycket mer kunskap att hämta runt om en. Samtidigt vet jag än mindre om det som finns på andra sidan gräset att jag bara Måste få veta mer.
    Gillar!!

  2. diseño grafico web says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of completely unique content related with diseño grafico web I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

    1. rcada says:

      I believe in sharing. I have considered putting a logo on my own pictures but I honestly dont think it helps as they are easy to remove in photoshop. In the end I question if any of my material really can be mine. Are any thoughts really originall or did they simply come from someplace else first? A good reminder anyhow, Thank you for bringing it up!

Leave a Reply

